SR-22 Requirements by State: Fees, Minimum Limits and Duration
Only Tennessee charges its own state fee for an SR-22 ($50); everywhere else the state charges a reinstatement fee and the insurer adds its own filing charge. 3 years is the most common SR-22 rule; Texas and Iowa require 2. Four states require 1 year (Kansas, Minnesota, North Dakota, Ohio for suspensions from April 9, 2025), and Vermont requires 1 year in most cases. Indiana requires 180 days after an insurance suspension. New Mexico, New York and Rhode Island say they do not use SR-22, and Kentucky and West Virginia have no SR-22 requirement in current law (Rhode Island still requires proof of insurance for 1 to 3 years after some suspensions). This table covers 50 states and DC, each checked against the state agency or statute on October 19, 2026: 40 fully verified, the rest marked where a state does not publish a figure.
What the data shows
- Any SR-22 filing charge is set by the insurance company, not the state. What the state charges is the license reinstatement fee.
- The lowest bodily injury minimums are Florida's SR-22 limits ($10,000 / $20,000 / $10,000); the highest overall are North Carolina's ($50,000 / $100,000 / $50,000). Pennsylvania has the lowest property damage minimum ($5,000). Several states raised their minimums in 2025 and 2026, including North Carolina, Virginia, Utah, Hawaii and New Jersey.
- Mississippi has the highest share of uninsured drivers in the country (28.2% in 2023), followed by New Mexico (24.1%) and Washington, D.C. (23.1%).
The table
Minimum liability is bodily injury per person / per accident / property damage. Florida shows its SR-22 limits; Michigan shows the lowest limits a driver may buy. A dagger (†) marks a row where part of the data is not published by the state; the CSV explains what.
| State | Uses SR-22 | State reinstatement fee | Minimum liability | How long | Uninsured drivers 2023 | Primary source |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Alabama † | Same rule, other name | $100 to $275 | $25,000 / $50,000 / $25,000 | 3 years from the date proof was required (Code of Ala. 32-7-31) | n/a | Alabama source |
| Alaska | Yes | $100 to $500 | $50,000 / $100,000 / $25,000 | 3 years from the end of the revocation for most offenses, longer after a DUI or refusal | n/a | Alaska source |
| Arizona | Yes | $10 to $50 | $25,000 / $50,000 / $15,000 | 3 years | n/a | Arizona source |
| Arkansas † | Yes | $100 to $150 | $25,000 / $50,000 / $25,000 | Not stated by the state | n/a | Arkansas source |
| California | Yes | $55 to $250 | $30,000 / $60,000 / $15,000 | 3 years | n/a | California source |
| Colorado | Yes | $95 to $120 | $25,000 / $50,000 / $15,000 | 3 years after an uninsured accident; 9 months to 3 years in alcohol cases | n/a | Colorado source |
| Connecticut | Only when the DMV requires it | $175 | $25,000 / $50,000 / $25,000 | No fixed term; you may ask to remove it after 12 months | n/a | Connecticut source |
| Delaware † | Same rule, other name | $50 to $200 | $25,000 / $50,000 / $10,000 | Not stated by the state | n/a | Delaware source |
| District of Columbia | Yes | $115 | $25,000 / $50,000 / $10,000 | 3 years | 23.1% | District of Columbia source |
| Florida | Yes | $15 to $500 | $10,000 / $20,000 / $10,000 | 3 years after a crash or judgment suspension (s. 324.131); 2 years after a no-insurance suspension (s. 324.0221(3)) | n/a | Florida source |
| Georgia | Yes | $200 to $310 | $25,000 / $50,000 / $25,000 | 3 years | n/a | Georgia source |
| Hawaii † | Yes | Not published by the state | $40,000 / $80,000 / $20,000 | 3 years | n/a | Hawaii source |
| Idaho | Yes | $25 to $285 | $25,000 / $50,000 / $15,000 | 3 years from the end of a conviction suspension, including DUI; 1 year after a first no-insurance conviction | 6.4% | Idaho source |
| Illinois | Yes | $70 to $500 | $25,000 / $50,000 / $20,000 | 3 years | n/a | Illinois source |
| Indiana | Yes | $250 to $1,000 | $25,000 / $50,000 / $25,000 | 180 days after an insurance suspension; 3 years after OWI and unpaid judgment suspensions | n/a | Indiana source |
| Iowa | Yes | $20 to $200 | $20,000 / $40,000 / $15,000 | 2 years | n/a | Iowa source |
| Kansas † | Yes | $100 to $1,500 | $25,000 / $50,000 / $25,000 | 1 year | n/a | Kansas source |
| Kentucky | No; the law was repealed in 1976 and 1978 | $40 | $25,000 / $50,000 / $25,000 | No SR-22 period | n/a | Kentucky source |
| Louisiana | Yes | $50 to $525 | $15,000 / $30,000 / $25,000 | 3 years | n/a | Louisiana source |
| Maine | Yes | $50 | $50,000 / $100,000 / $25,000 | 3 years | 5.7% | Maine source |
| Maryland † | None listed by the state | $30 to $150 | $30,000 / $60,000 / $15,000 | No SR-22 found | n/a | Maryland source |
| Massachusetts † | None listed by the state | $100 to $1,200 | $25,000 / $50,000 / $30,000 | No SR-22 found | n/a | Massachusetts source |
| Michigan | Yes, as a certificate of insurance | $25 to $125 | $50,000 / $100,000 / $10,000 | 3 years from the date proof was required | n/a | Michigan source |
| Minnesota | Yes, under another name (form PS35016) | $20 to $680 | $30,000 / $60,000 / $10,000 | 1 year | n/a | Minnesota source |
| Mississippi | Yes | $100 to $175 | $25,000 / $50,000 / $25,000 | 3 years after a DUI or implied-consent suspension (Miss. Admin. Code Rule 31-1-16.1); a no-insurance suspension needs proof of insurance only | 28.2% | Mississippi source |
| Missouri | Yes | $20 to $400 | $25,000 / $50,000 / $25,000 | 3 years for no-insurance suspensions; 2 years for DWI, alcohol, refusal, points and judgment cases | n/a | Missouri source |
| Montana | Yes, as an insurer certificate (SR-22) | $100 to $200 | $25,000 / $50,000 / $20,000 | 3 years | n/a | Montana source |
| Nebraska | Yes | $50 to $125 | $25,000 / $50,000 / $25,000 | 3 years | n/a | Nebraska source |
| Nevada | Yes | $75 to $750 | $25,000 / $50,000 / $20,000 | 3 years | n/a | Nevada source |
| New Hampshire | Yes | $100 | $25,000 / $50,000 / $25,000 | 3 years | n/a | New Hampshire source |
| New Jersey † | None listed by the state | $100 | $35,000 / $70,000 / $25,000 | No SR-22 found | n/a | New Jersey source |
| New Mexico | None listed by the state | $25 to $102 | $25,000 / $50,000 / $10,000 | No SR-22 | 24.1% | New Mexico source |
| New York | None listed by the state | $50 to $750 | $25,000 / $50,000 / $10,000 | No SR-22 | n/a | New York source |
| North Carolina | Yes, as Form DL-123 | $50 to $167.75 | $50,000 / $100,000 / $50,000 | 3 years | n/a | North Carolina source |
| North Dakota | Yes | $50 to $100 | $25,000 / $50,000 / $25,000 | 1 year | n/a | North Dakota source |
| Ohio | Yes | $40 to $600 | $25,000 / $50,000 / $25,000 | 1 year for suspensions imposed on or after April 9, 2025 (older cases 3 or 5 years) | n/a | Ohio source |
| Oklahoma † | Same rule, other name | $300 to $350 | $25,000 / $50,000 / $25,000 | Not stated by the state | n/a | Oklahoma source |
| Oregon | Yes | $85 | $25,000 / $50,000 / $20,000 | 3 years; 1 year for driving-uninsured convictions on or after January 1, 2026 | n/a | Oregon source |
| Pennsylvania † | None listed by the state | $94 to $119 | $15,000 / $30,000 / $5,000 | Proof only at restoration | n/a | Pennsylvania source |
| Rhode Island † | No | $153.50 to $353.50 | $25,000 / $50,000 / $25,000 | No SR-22 (DMV) | n/a | Rhode Island source |
| South Carolina | Yes | $100 to $700 | $25,000 / $50,000 / $25,000 | 3 years | n/a | South Carolina source |
| South Dakota | Yes | $75 to $225 | $25,000 / $50,000 / $25,000 | 3 years | n/a | South Dakota source |
| Tennessee | Yes | $20 to $165 | $25,000 / $50,000 / $25,000 | The length of your suspension or revocation | n/a | Tennessee source |
| Texas | Yes | $100 | $30,000 / $60,000 / $25,000 | 2 years | n/a | Texas source |
| Utah | Yes | $40 to $347 | $30,000 / $65,000 / $25,000 | 3 years, typically from the conviction date | 6.2% | Utah source |
| Vermont | Yes | $96 | $25,000 / $50,000 / $10,000 | 1 year in most cases; 3 years after a fatal careless or reckless driving conviction or a second or later DUI | n/a | Vermont source |
| Virginia | Yes | $145 to $220 | $50,000 / $100,000 / $25,000 | 3 years | n/a | Virginia source |
| Washington | Yes | $75 | $25,000 / $50,000 / $10,000 | 3 years | n/a | Washington source |
| West Virginia | None listed by the state | $50 to $100 | $25,000 / $50,000 / $25,000 | No ongoing filing period | n/a | West Virginia source |
| Wisconsin | Yes | $60 to $200 | $25,000 / $50,000 / $10,000 | 3 years from the date you are eligible to reinstate | n/a | Wisconsin source |
| Wyoming | Yes | $50 | $25,000 / $50,000 / $20,000 | 3 years from the date the state requires proof | n/a | Wyoming source |
Uninsured-driver rates are shown only where the Insurance Research Council's own news release names the state; the IRC's full state table is a paid report.
Free to cite with a link to this page. The source link in each row is the authority; if a row and its source disagree, the source wins.